2016 WCML Awards

The Women’s Caucus for the Modern Languages is pleased to announce our 2016 awards (2016).

The Florence Howe Award for Feminist Scholarship

from the field of English:

Leah Claire Allen
Visiting Assistant Professor, Gender, Women’s, & Sexuality Studies, Grinnell College
“The Pleasures of Dangerous Criticism: Interpreting Andrea Dworkin as a Literary Critic”
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society Fall 2016, vol. 42, no. 1, 49-70

from the field of foreign languages
Elizabeth W. Son
Assistant Professor of Theatre, Northwestern University
“Korean Trojan Women: Performing Wartime Sexual Violence”
Asian Theatre Journal Fall 2016, vol. 33, no. 2, 369-94

The 2016 Annette Kolodny Award for graduate student travel to present a paper at MLA:

Isadora Wagner
Graduate student, Department of English, University of Mississippi
“Undoing the ‘Traditional Logics of War’ with Soldiers’ Transgendering Makeup Performances in Vietnam War Literature”
Panel sponsored by the Women’s and Gender Studies’ Forum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *